Meerut Post 2: Meerut Ki kainchiyan! (Scissors)

If you haven’t used a scissor made in Meerut, you have missed out on an excellent cutting experience my friend.

Its only when I moved out of Meerut for my Graduation, that I learnt of Meerut’s Scissors.

I gifted one to a friend who used it for preparing garments, and he was pleasantly surprised with the tool’s efficiency. That made me wonder, how much I took our amazing Kainchis for granted.
In fact my mother had been gifted a large beautiful scissor by her patient, with her name tastefully etched on it, it has been our companion for years. They are the most long lasting scissors ever.

The smoothness of their functioning is literally orgasmic. Trust me, I have been in Design Schools, and have used many scissors, but the ones from Meerut, you can never forget the exhilaration of that perfect sharpness, that deft movement, that sound (khich, khach) which is almost music to my ears.

Just in case, you ain’t aware, Meerut’s Scissors may get Geographical Indication Mark : http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2013-01-17/lucknow/36393076_1_geographical-indication-scissors-gi-certification

To express my gratitude and love for the craftsmen and their wonderful creation, scissors:

 

kainchiyan meerut ki _poornima sardana

kainchiyan meerut ki _poornima sardana

 

Kainchiyan meerut Ki_ night_ aise koolness ho gayi_ poornima sardana

Kainchiyan meerut Ki_ night_ aise koolness ho gayi_ poornima sardana

 

Ok yes, i took some liberty and let aesthetics go for a toss 😉

 

Shall be posting more on this, pretty soon!

 

About poornimasardana

Travel and Observations acquaint me with the Existent Pluralities around us and I wish to share those. I indulge in narratives (illustrations, words and pictures), it being my most cherished pursuit.
This entry was posted in history, image identity, india, kahaniyan, meerut, narratives, people, projects, reflections, society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meerut Post 2: Meerut Ki kainchiyan! (Scissors)

  1. Pingback: Rupalee Heirloom Scissors!!!! How I fell in love. | meerul-meerut

Leave a Reply

